Planning Nepal
Nepal SIM card: Ncell vs NTC, pricing, and trekking coverage
Several NepalPick guides mention getting online in Nepal only in passing — a bare “mobile roaming/eSIM/SIM plan” checklist bullet, a one-line “coverage disappears above 3,000 metres” caution — without ever explaining the mechanics. This page owns that gap for a short-trip visitor: the two-operator choice, how and where to buy a SIM, registration documents, realistic prices, eSIM trade-offs, and what to expect route by route on the trail. It does not cover fixed broadband, coworking, or long-stay connectivity for remote workers — see Nepal for digital nomads for that. Last reviewed 2 September 2026; see the sources section for what could and could not be independently fetched this run.
Ncell vs NTC: the two-operator choice
Nepal Telecom (NTC, commonly branded “Namaste,” state-owned) and Ncell (privately owned) are the two mobile networks tourists choose between. A third operator, Smart Cell, has a much smaller footprint but does have its own airport counter. Widely reported by trekking operators, not an authoritative network-performance comparison: Ncell is generally described as faster and more reliable in Kathmandu, Pokhara, and other urban centres, while NTC is more consistently recommended across independent route-specific connectivity guides for coverage in remote and high-altitude terrain. Neither operator’s own coverage-map page could be independently fetched this run to confirm directly (see sources). Many trekkers buy both — an inexpensive way to hedge, given the SIM itself costs about a dollar.
How and where to buy a SIM
Dedicated tourist-SIM counters for Ncell, NTC, and Smart Cell operate just past immigration at Tribhuvan International Airport (Kathmandu), staffed by English-speaking agents. Hand over your passport, choose a plan, and pay cash — the process typically takes 5 to 10 minutes and the SIM activates within about 10 to 15 minutes. Airport counters do not keep 24-hour hours — one source cites an Ncell airport counter open roughly 09:00–17:30 — so confirm current hours before a very late or very early arrival rather than assuming round-the-clock service. SIMs are also available from authorised shops in city centres, such as Thamel in Kathmandu.
Registration documents: government regulation requires your passport, a copy of your Nepal visa, and a passport-size photo. If you don’t have a photo ready, shops can usually take and print one on the spot for a small fee (reported around NPR 50–60).
Pricing: SIM cost and data packs
Treat every figure below as a researched planning range, not a fixed quote — confirm current pricing at purchase, since packages change. The SIM card itself is inexpensive: commonly reported around NPR 100–200 (roughly $1–1.50), and Nepal Telecom has been reported to issue the SIM itself for free at its airport counter, with credit added separately. Short tourist-oriented data packs commonly run NPR 500–1,000 (roughly $4–8) for 7–30 days and 5–20GB; larger 30-day plans are reported around NPR 1,200–2,000 (roughly $10–16). For where SIM and data costs fit in a full trip budget, see Nepal travel cost; for the cash-versus-card mechanics of actually paying for one, see money in Nepal.
eSIM options
Global eSIM brands (Airalo, Holafly, and similar) now sell Nepal-specific plans, priced from roughly $7–10 for 5GB, with short unlimited-style options from some providers reported around $16 for 5 days. The trade-off that matters for trekking: an eSIM typically roams on only one of Nepal’s two physical networks rather than offering the same operator choice a physical SIM does, and it is generally reported as costing more per gigabyte than a local SIM. It is a genuine convenience for getting online immediately on arrival, before you reach a physical-SIM counter — but it is not a way to guarantee a specific network’s remote-area coverage on a trek, and which exact network each eSIM brand roams on was reported inconsistently enough across sources that this page does not state a specific brand-to-network pairing as fact.
Route-by-route trekking connectivity
Reported consistently across independent trekking-operator connectivity guides, cross-checked again this run:
- Everest region: solid Ncell/NTC signal through Lukla and Namche Bazaar, weakening above Dingboche. Paid teahouse Wi-Fi (Everest Link or the Nepal Wireless Project) is widely available from the lower villages up to Gorak Shep, at a per-day fee that rises with altitude — roughly NPR 400–600/day lower on the route, up to NPR 1,200+/day higher up, at slow shared-bandwidth speeds. No reliable mobile coverage is reported at Everest Base Camp or Kala Patthar itself.
- Annapurna Circuit: workable mobile coverage and paid teahouse Wi-Fi through Chame, Pisang, Manang, and Jomsom; weak to none at Yak Kharka, Thorong Phedi, and Thorong La pass.
- Langtang: NTC reported as reasonably reliable up to Langtang village (roughly 3,430m); weak above Kyanjin Gompa, where teahouse Wi-Fi becomes the practical option.
- Manaslu Circuit: the most limited of the four — restricted-area terrain with thin infrastructure, coverage reported through the lower villages up to Namrung, weak to none above roughly 3,500m.
For the routes themselves — duration, effort, permits, and season — see Nepal trek comparison or best treks in Nepal; this page deliberately doesn’t restate that logistics detail.
Device registration (MDMS): a genuinely disputed detail
Sources genuinely conflict on this one — published cautiously. Nepal’s telecom regulator (the Nepal Telecommunications Authority, NTA) runs a Mobile Device Management System (MDMS) that requires phones used with a local Nepali SIM to be registered by IMEI. Reported grace periods before registration is required vary by source — one cluster cites 15 days, another cites 90 days — and sources also disagree on exactly how it applies to a standard short-trip tourist using their own home-country phone versus a phone bought abroad more generally. Several sources report that tourists relying on international roaming on their home-country SIM, rather than a purchased local Nepali SIM, are not affected by MDMS at all. Given this direct conflict, this page does not state a specific grace-period figure as settled fact: a typical one-to-three-week tourist trip on a local SIM is unlikely to be affected in practice either way, but if you’re staying longer or bringing a very recent phone model, check mdms.nta.gov.np directly or ask your SIM vendor.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a SIM card in Nepal, or does eSIM work fine?
Either works for staying online, but they trade off differently. An eSIM from a global provider (Airalo, Holafly, and similar now sell Nepal-specific plans) is convenient because you can activate it before you land, but it typically roams on only one of Nepal's two physical networks rather than giving you a real choice, and it usually costs more per gigabyte than a local SIM. A local Ncell or NTC SIM is cheaper and lets you pick the network with better coverage on your actual route, at the cost of a short registration process on arrival.
Which is better for trekking, Ncell or NTC?
Ncell is widely reported by trekking operators as faster and more reliable in Kathmandu, Pokhara, and other cities; Nepal Telecom (NTC), state-owned and commonly branded "Namaste," is more consistently recommended for coverage in remote and high-altitude terrain. Many trekkers carry both — Ncell for the cities, NTC once the trail climbs above the lower villages. Treat this as a widely reported pattern rather than an authoritative network-performance comparison, since neither operator's own coverage map could be independently confirmed this run.
Will I have signal at Everest Base Camp?
No reliable mobile coverage from either network is reported at Everest Base Camp or Kala Patthar themselves. Coverage from Lukla through Namche Bazaar is solid and weakens above Dingboche; paid teahouse Wi-Fi (Everest Link or the Nepal Wireless Project) is widely available from the lower villages up to Gorak Shep at a per-day fee that rises with altitude, and is the practical way to get online in the upper Khumbu, not a mobile signal.
What documents do I need to buy a Nepal SIM card?
Your passport, a copy of your Nepal visa, and a passport-size photo. Shops and airport counters can usually take and print a photo on the spot for a small fee if you don't have one ready. The process typically takes 5 to 10 minutes and the SIM activates within about 10 to 15 minutes.
Official sources and what to reconfirm
WebFetch could not reach the Nepal Telecommunications Authority’s MDMS page, Nepal Telecom’s own site, or Ncell’s own tourist-SIM page directly this run (a standing access issue on prior automation runs) — pricing and coverage facts above instead come from cross-referencing an independent telecom-tracker site and multiple independent trekking-operator connectivity guides. The device-registration (MDMS) grace period is the single most weakly sourced fact on this page, with sources directly conflicting on the figure; it is published as a hedged pointer to the official NTA channel, not as a specific day count. All pricing is a researched range, not either operator’s official price list — confirm at purchase.